National MSME Advisory Panel

The National SME Advisory Panel serves as a consultative body, combining both public and private sector expertise to advise the government on matters concerning Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs). It facilitates ongoing discussions between leaders and decision-makers from both sectors, focusing on improving the business environment for small enterprises. The panel includes key government officials and prominent business figures.

One of its goals is to ensure that by 2022, 30% (Ugshs 3,000 out of every Ushs 10,000) of government investments in goods and services are directed towards small and medium-sized enterprises.

  • Current members of the panel include:
  • Basil Ajer: Director, Small and Medium Enterprise Division, Uganda Investment Authority
  • Joshua Mutambi: Commissioner, Marketing and Processing, Small and Medium Enterprise Directorate, Ministry of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives
  • Abubaker Muhammad Moki: Commissioner, Planning and Research, Cabinet Secretariat, Office of the President
  • Patrick Oyuru: Director, Marketing, Coca-Cola
  • Constance Kakihembo: Executive Director, Uganda Women Entrepreneurs Association
  • Douglas Opio: Executive Director, Federation of Uganda Employers
  • Victoria Sekitoleko: Chairperson, Uganda Agribusiness Alliance
  • John K. Walugembe: Executive Director, Federation of Small and Medium Enterprises
  • Patricia Ojangole: Managing Director, Uganda Development Bank